The Full Frame Initiative

As part of the U.S. Attorney General’s Defending Childhood Initiative, the Full Frame’s Initiative‘s Five Domains of Wellbeing and its application in the Missouri juvenile justice system was recently highlighted as part of a December 18, 2014 webinar.  The Defending Childhood Initiative focuses “on preventing, addressing, reducing, and more fully understanding childhood exposure to violence.”

The Full Frame Initiative “works to break cycles of poverty and violence through systems change.”  Their “Five Domains of Wellbeing are the universal, interdependent and non-hierarchical essential needs we all have…” for comprehensive wellbeing.  They include:

  1. Social Connectedness
  2. Stability
  3. Safety
  4. Mastery (“the degree to which a person feels in control of her or his fate and the decisions she or he makes, and where she or he experiences some correlation between efforts and outcomes.”)
  5. Meaningful Access to Relevant Resources

The Defending Childhood Initiative included task forces on children exposed to violenceand American Indian and Alaska Native children exposed to violence.  Both have reports available through the links.

This entry was posted in Trauma. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.